Share

2013 SCGA Hall of Fame Sizzle

A brief look at the 2013 SCGA Hall of Fame Ceremony, which inducted John Cook, Roger Kelly and Paul Runyan into the SCGA Hall of Fame.

You must login to scga.org to leave comments.

dglewis856

Handicap Index: 7.6
Sunday, September 14, 2014

Etiquette tips for pace of play and not interfering with other ready golf players: Because of a disability, I’m usually the shortest hitter and always have to use a riding cart, so I’m usually first to my ball and ready to play when the group in front is clear. Even if not the case, there’s not much more annoying to me than trying to play ready golf while seeing someone walking up directly behind or in front and/or hearing their clubs clank as they walk. Tip for pace of play and everyone’s enjoyment: When walking and carrying your clubs, make sure you don’t walk in playing sight during another player’s turn and have iron head covers or can hold your clubs from rocking and clicking each other.

edwheelis

Handicap Index: 22.1
Friday, September 12, 2014

If from the tee your ball hits a telephone pole that is in the fairway, do you play from where it lies, or do you get to tee-up again without penalty?

indiecred

Handicap Index: 11.3
Sunday, August 17, 2014

This just isn’t a great idea.  I like the spirit of it, but I just think coming across the ball is more important.  Ive tried it both ways and I couldn’t instruct someone to putt this way,  It definitely makes sense to take a good long look at the hole, but all in all, I disagree.

scga_staff

Handicap Index: 6.9
Tuesday, June 10, 2014

waylandpm - That’s a tricky one! One of our Rules Crew members will send you a detailed answer.

waylandpm

Handicap Index: 21.3
Saturday, June 07, 2014

My ball hit the grass lip of the forward wall of a trap, rolled backward into the trap and was stopped about four inches below the lip by a rake that had been left there. The forward wall of the trap was very steep and about 8 feet high. When I carefully removed the rake, the ball rolled to the bottom of the trap. I assumed that I needed to place the ball back where it had initially came to rest next to the rake, but when I did, it rolled back down to the bottom of the trap. The only way I would have been able to make it stay where it had come to rest would have been to push it down into the sand, perhaps an inch. Here is the solution I came up with. I reasoned that had the rake not been there, my ball would have naturally rolled back down and come to rest at the bottom of the trap. So I placed the ball on the spot where it had come to rest against the rake, let it roll down to the bottom of the trap and played it from there. What do the rules require in this situation?